top of page

AGM at Guildhall


1st November 2017

The Guildhall Club was the meeting place for an amicable and successful Annual General Meeting of the Aldersgate Ward Club on Wednesday 1st November; sixty nine members attending for the meeting and fifty nine remaining for dinner.


At the meeting the Outgoing Master Sally Gill presented a summary of her excellent year in office thanking members for their wonderful support during the year. Sally then handed over to the Incoming Master Dr Antony Richards who presented her with the Past Master’s badge of office. The Master then invited Alderman Nick Anstee to remain as our President. This was agreed unanimously  and welcomed. It was then agreed that Chris Eyles and Ian Kelly be appointed Senior and Junior Wardens respectively. Five committee members were also elected. The Honorary Secretary is delighted to know that there are many more members who are willing to stand for committee in the not too distant future. As the formal part of the meeting closed The Master outlined his programme for the year which is full of mystery and intrigue on the theme of Boats, Planes and Trains.


Members were then able to enjoy the bar facilities of the Club before enjoying an excellent two course dinner of Breast of Wild Mallard Duck with Gooseberry Jus, grilled fennel, roasted fennel and sugar snap followed by Coconut and Lavender Parfait, coffee and chocolate truffles served with Club Chardonnay and Club Merlot. All of which was superb!


During the course of the evening Ron Wood and Jon Scott Francis sold a great number of raffle tickets, raising the grand sum of £370. This will be put towards the Lord Mayor’s Fund. Many thanks to the generous members who contributed great prizes and to Ron and Jon for their brilliant efforts.

Finally our thanks to Deputy Joyce Nash for the suggestion of using the Guildhall Club and to Alderman and President Nick Anstee, and Common Councillors Adrian Bastow and Jeremy Mayhew for their support and presence at the event.


Last but not least to The Master and the Honorary Secretary, thanks for organizing such a great evening.


Good luck Master for your year in office!


                                                          Jan Yerbury

:                        :

bottom of page